EAA AirVenture Oshkosh - The World's Greatest Aviation Celebration

[ NEWS ]

  Latest News
  Awards / Group Photos
  Media Room
EAA AirVenture Oshkosh RSS FeedMichael Goulian to Receive Bill Barber Award
Renowned air show pilot Michael Goulian of Maynard, Mass., will receive the 2009 Bill Barber Award for Showmanship during EAA AirVenture 2009, July 27-August 2. The annual award is presented by World Airshow News.

Goulian will receive the award at EAA's Theater in the Woods on Monday, July 27. He joins a list of honorees that reads like an air show hall of fame listing of the past 20 years.

Goulian grew up with aviation as his family founded one of the largest flying schools in the Northeast, Executive Flyers Aviation (EFA). By age 16, Goulian had soloed a Cessna 150 and soon after began aerobatic training. To date, Goulian has approximately two decades of flying experience in air shows around the world, astonishing audiences with his aggressive and innovative aerobatic displays.

Goulian is also an accomplished aerobatic competition pilot. He has been U.S. National Champion in the Advanced Category, two-time Silver Medalist in the Unlimited Category, represented America at the World Aerobatic Championships, was U.S. National Unlimited Champion in 1995 and has competed in the Red Bull Air Race World Championship.

His impressive background in aerobatics continues as Goulian contributes to the future development of his beloved sport. A former member of the Board of Directors of the International Council of Air Shows (ICAS), Goulian became an Aerobatic Competency Evaluator to help amateur performers begin their aerobatic careers. Goulian is also the co-author of Basic and Advanced Aerobatics, which is a best-selling series of aerobatic training books.

Along with Sean D. Tucker, a previous Bill Barber Award recipient, Goulian mentored six future air show pilots as part of the program "Stars of Tomorrow" that introduces new talent at EAA AirVenture.

The Bill Barber Award for Showmanship, which began in 1987, is awarded to air show performers or teams that have demonstrated great skill and showmanship. The award is presented annually by World Airshow News and the friends and family of the late Bill Barber. Past Bill Barber Award winners include:

2008 Bud Granley
2007 Dacy Family Airshow Team
2006 Danny Clisham
2005 Pietsch Airshows
2004 Bobby Younkin
2003 Jim LeRoy
2002 AeroShell Aerobatic Team
2001 Northern Lights Aerobatic Team
2000 John Mohr
1999 Dan Buchanan
1998 Patty Wagstaff
1997 Gene Soucy & Teresa Stokes
1996 Wayne Handley
1995 Bob Hoover
1994 Bob & Annette Hosking
1993 Red Baron Stearman Squadron
1992 Sean D. Tucker
1991 Julie Clark
1990 Leo Loudenslager
1989 Jimmy Franklin
1988 No Award
1987 The French Connection
1986 Eagles Aerobatic Flight Team

FUTURE AIRVENTURE DATES: 2014: July 28-Aug. 3; 2015: July 20-26; 2016: July 25-31; 2017: July 24-30
Copyright © 2014 EAA, Inc.
All content, logos, pictures, and videos are the property of the EAA, Inc.
EAA Aviation Center, 3000 Poberezny Road, Oshkosh, WI 54902
If you have any comments or questions contact webmaster@eaa.org.
Disclaimer/Privacy Policy