EAA AirVenture Oshkosh - The World's Greatest Aviation Celebration

 for Sun, Aug 3, 2008

Index of all articles from
EAA AirVenture Today


Photo Gallery
EAA Radio

EAA AirVenture Today

EAA AirVenture Today is published by the Experimental Aircraft Association for EAA AirVenture from July 27 - August 3. It is distributed free on the convention grounds as well as other locations in Oshkosh and surrounding communities. Stories and photos are copyrighted 2008 by EAA AirVenture Today and EAA. Reproduction by any means is prohibited without written consent.


Advertising information

The official daily newspaper of EAA AirVenture Oshkosh

Volume 9, Number 8 August 3, 2008     

Fallen comrades remembered at Memorial Wall ceremony

What EAA President Tom Poberezny called "one of the most important places on the AirVenture grounds," the EAA Memorial Wall was overflowing with family and friends of those who have passed gathered to take part in the annual installation ceremony on Sunday morning.

Under sparkling clear, blue skies, Poberezny put the Memorial Wall's significance into perspective.

"We keep looking skyward, and that's what our loved ones did every summer at Oshkosh," he said to several hundred people in attendance. "We're here to remember them, to give solace to each other. Oshkosh is community, friendships, family and of course, the airplanes."

A missing man formation preceded the reading of 110 names that were installed this year.

"Oshkosh is a special place to all of us," Poberezny said. "I hope this ceremony helps in the healing process,. The pain of losing a loved one never goes away, but we learn to deal with it.

"Memories can never, ever be taken away."

A trumpet duet played Taps before EAA Chaplain Pastor Ed Riddick's benediction message.

Bart C. Ale
Meric G. "Bill" Arnold
Harold Baker
Dr. Guy Baldwin
Gerry Beck
Dr. Doug and Saint Sharon Beechel
Mark L. Boles
Caro Bayley Bosca
E. Phillip Bruch
Donald G Brunner
Robert H. Burns
Major Paul L. Carlson
Mary Elizabeth Carpenter
Dean Carson
Charles R. Cash Jr.
Olga Rosskopf Cassella
Hugh Joseph Corrigan
Captain Carl Cotton
Harry F and Sally DeFouw
Gregg Deimer
Karen Dodds
Osvaldo R. Durana
Franklin Dykstra
Don Eudy
Rocky D. & Richard D. Finch
Robert Francois
Ronald "Captain Wings" Freiberger
Donald "Rusty" Fulford
Herman L. Gatlin
Gerry Geiger
Kenneth Gibson
Darrell A. Graves Sr.
Bill Groeneveld
Paul E. Harris
Terry Harrison
Herman L. Hildreth
Brigadier General David Lee "Tex" Hill
John A. and Sheri Horn

Francis R. Housley
Miles “Doc” Hubbard
Jack R. Hunt
Larry Imrich
1st Lt. Glen Frederick Jensen
Cody L. Jessup
R.W. Johnson
“Big Ron” Karwacky
Donald H. Key
Melvin King
Fred W. Klingerman
Capt. Paul Krysiak
John Lea
Jim LeRoy
Jason Kurt Lohr
Donald S. Lopez
Bobby G. Lunsford Sr.
Capt. Edwin Martens
Peter Joseph McConnell
Ronald E. McInroy
Marshall Miller
Richard Miller
Capt. H.H. “Pete” Myers
Capt. Melvyn J. Ott
Angela Lucille Panzera
John H. Payne
Kenneth J. Payne
Michael H. Payne
Tim C. Peterson
Stephen Pitcairn
Roger L. Poore
Edward C. Punjak
Andrew West Reid
James E. Richards
Dick Rybarczyk
Philip M. Savides
Richard H. Schlinsog
Hoyt B. Scott
Ed Seversen
Ronald E. Shettler
Hale G. Smith
Don and John Stuber
Harris Marshall Sullivan
Maj. Mike Titre
Jeri Treager
Gene Underland
Burt “Bugs” Warren
Ronald C. Webb
Kemmons and Dorothy Wilson
Sally Wilson
Kimberly Woltjer

FUTURE AIRVENTURE DATES: 2014: July 28-Aug. 3; 2015: July 20-26; 2016: July 25-31; 2017: July 24-30
Copyright © 2014 EAA, Inc.
All content, logos, pictures, and videos are the property of the EAA, Inc.
EAA Aviation Center, 3000 Poberezny Road, Oshkosh, WI 54902
If you have any comments or questions contact webmaster@eaa.org.
Disclaimer/Privacy Policy