EAA AirVenture Oshkosh - The World's Greatest Aviation Celebration

[ NEWS ]

  Latest News
  Awards / Group Photos
  Media Room

Tony Bingelis Award

The Tony Bingelis Award recognizes significant contributions to the encouragement of aircraft projects for fellow EAAers, the promotion of aviation safety, and maintaining the values of EAA. A  nominee must have been an active and current EAA Technical Counselor for a t least five consecutive years. Created in 2002, the award honors the late Tony Bingelis, a noted homebuilding authority and EAA Sport Aviation columnist who wrote 300 how-to articles from 1972 to 1996, and authored four homebuilding book. A retired U.S. Air Force pilot, he was a founding member of Chapter 187 in Austin, Texas, in 1963, and helped organize the EAA Southwest Regional Fly-In in 1965. He was inducted into the Homebuilders' Hall of Fame in 1995, and died in March 2001.

Past Winners of the Tony Bingelis Award:

2013 Lowell Farrand
2012 Joe Norris
2011 Mickey Whittenburg
2010 James Baldwin
2009 Earl Luce
2008 Bob Rockford
2007 Richard Koehler
2006 Jim Miller
2005 Mel Asberry
2004 Alex Sloan
2003 Joe Gauthier

FUTURE AIRVENTURE DATES: 2014: July 28-Aug. 3; 2015: July 20-26; 2016: July 25-31; 2017: July 24-30
Copyright © 2014 EAA, Inc.
All content, logos, pictures, and videos are the property of the EAA, Inc.
EAA Aviation Center, 3000 Poberezny Road, Oshkosh, WI 54902
If you have any comments or questions contact webmaster@eaa.org.
Disclaimer/Privacy Policy