EAA AirVenture Oshkosh - The World's Greatest Aviation Celebration

[ NEWS ]

  Latest News
  Awards / Group Photos
  Media Room

Awards / Group Photos

Aircraft (Lindy) Awards

Named after aviation hero Charles Lindbergh, the Lindy Awards acknowledge the tireless effort necessary to create an aircraft that's truly best of show.

Past Winners
2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010
| 2011 | 2012 | 2013

Aircraft Judging Manual (complete version)

Note: No revisions have been made to the judging standards manual in 2012; the manual in effect until further notice has a revision date of October 2011.

Judging for aircraft awards closes at the following times:

  • Warbirds: Registered for judging no later than 8:30 a.m. Thursday
  • Rotorcraft: Noon, Thursday
  • Vintage, Homebuilt, and Ultralight/Light-Sport Aircraft: Noon, Friday
  • Seaplanes: Noon, Friday

If you are expecting to have your aircraft judged, please plan on giving the judges at least one full day in advance of the close of judging for the volunteer judges to view your aircraft. For example, if judging in your area ends at noon on Friday, having your aircraft on the airport and registered no later than Wednesday evening or first thing Thursday morning will give the judges adequate time to review it.

Other Awards

August Raspet Award - For outstanding contribution to the advancement of the design of light aircraft

Bax Seat Award - For a tradition of communicating the excitement and romance of flight

Bill Barber Award - For showmanship

Dorothy Hilbert Award - Honoring a female EAA volunteer who exhibits passion, dedication, and devotion for volunteerism

EAA Chapter Newsletter Award - Newsletters are judged on consistency, appearance, layout, and content

EAA Web Editor Award - Recognizing chapters that excel in online communications

Freedom of Flight Award - For contributions to aviation and EAA

Key to the City - Honoring distinguished personalities for contributions to the promotion and support of EAA AirVenture Oshkosh and the aviation community

Chapter Awards - EAA members nominated by their chapters

Chairman's Awards - Members whose participation and contributions represent the "essence" of EAA

Preston Little Award for Excellence - Recognizing an individual who demonstrates selflessness, cooperation, and professionalism in support of AirVenture air operations

Spirit of Flight Award - Presented to an EAA member who best exemplifies the spirit of research, development or flight test

Tony Bingelis Award - Recognizing contributions to the homebuilt-aircraft community

Young Eagle Awards - Outstanding Young Eagle volunteers

Group Photos







FUTURE AIRVENTURE DATES: 2014: July 28-Aug. 3; 2015: July 20-26; 2016: July 25-31; 2017: July 24-30
Copyright © 2014 EAA, Inc.
All content, logos, pictures, and videos are the property of the EAA, Inc.
EAA Aviation Center, 3000 Poberezny Road, Oshkosh, WI 54902
If you have any comments or questions contact webmaster@eaa.org.
Disclaimer/Privacy Policy